My brother’s letter to the LA Times

My wife and I got a kick out of Scott Timberg’s Sunday story about Philip K. Dick. In fact, when I read the first portion to her, we both had to laugh out loud because it was so out of synch with reality. Somebody sure got this one wrong.

If you are a fan of Phil and you want an accurate account, please read on.

First, we were not at the Fullerton apartment. We were at the house on Santa Isabel.

Second, it was not nighttime. It was bright daylight.

Third, I never entered the house on that day and I never “started grabbing” anything. My wife did go in and help carry out Chris’s clothes and toys, but she isn’t even mentioned.

Fourth, we had no truck, no van, no trailer to transport chairs or tables.

Mr. Timberg asserts “the details…come from Powers’ journals.” I doubt Tim Powers was there. My sister Tessa says it was Kevin Jeter who was in the house.

If the fallacious account really does come from Tim Powers, he owes me and Tessa and Phil’s fans a sincere apology.

~~~

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

